Meet our Speakers

Professor Martin Green

Professor Martin Green

Director, Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics

Martin Green is Scientia Professor at the University of New South Wales, Sydney and Director of the Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics, involving several other Australian Universities and research groups. His group’s contributions to photovoltaics are well known and include holding the record for silicon solar cell efficiency for 30 of the last 38 years, described as one of the “Top Ten” Milestones in the history of solar photovoltaics. The PERC solar cell that he invented in 1983 and his team developed to its full potential accounted for an estimated 90% of worldwide solar module production in 2020. Major international awards include the 1999 Australia Prize, the 2002 Right Livelihood Award, also known as the Alternative Nobel Prize, the 2007 SolarWorld Einstein Award, the Global Energy Prize presented in Moscow in 2018 and the 2021 Japan Prize.

The Honourable Malcolm Turnbull AC

The Honourable Malcolm Turnbull AC

29th Prime Minister of Australia

Australia’s 29th Prime Minister (2015-2018) had international careers in law, business and the media before entering politics at the age of 50.

As Prime Minister, he reformed Australia’s personal income tax, education and childcare systems, oversaw the legalisation of same sex marriage and announced the construction of Snowy Hydro 2.0 the biggest pumped hydro scheme in the southern hemisphere. Mr Turnbull embarked on the largest peacetime investment in Australian defence capabilities and set out Australia’s first national cybersecurity strategy.


Globally, Mr Turnbull played a leading role in reviving the Trans Pacific Partnership (TPP-11 or CPTPP) after the United States withdrew. He also struck deals with US Presidents Obama and Trump to accept refugees who tried to arrive in Australia illegally by boat.

As a young lawyer, Mr Turnbull successfully defended former MI5 agent Peter Wright against the British Government in the 1986 “Spycatcher” trial before entering business where he ran his own investment banking firm for a decade before joining Goldman Sachs as a partner in 1997. Both before and after his political career, Mr Turnbull has been a successful venture capitalist. He co founded OzEmail Limited, the first Australian tech company to be listed on the NASDAQ.

Since leaving politics, Mr Turnbull has resumed his business career. He is a senior adviser to KKR and an investor in, and adviser to, many Australian technology businesses. He is a director of the International Hydropower Association and Chairman of Australian Fortescue Future Industries. Mr Turnbull speaks and writes on a range of issues including cyber security, geopolitics and renewable energy.

Prof. Andrew Blakers

Prof. Andrew Blakers

Professor of Engineering, Australian National University

Andrew Blakers is Professor of Engineering at the Australian National University where he founded a solar PV research group in 1991. He was responsible for the design and fabrication of silicon solar cells with world record efficiencies of 18%, 19%, 20% and 22%. He was co-inventor of the PERC silicon solar cell, which has 90% of the global solar market and cumulative module sales of US$60 billion. PERC cell deployment is mitigating 0.8% of global Greenhouse gas emissions through displacement of coal. Prof Blakers engages in detailed hour-by-hour analysis of energy systems with 50-100% penetration by wind and photovoltaics for which he was co-winner of the 2018 Eureka Prize for Environmental Research. Prof Blakers’ team developed a comprehensive global atlas of off-river pumped hydro energy storage sites.

Stay up to date

Join our mailing list to stay up to date with the latest Conference and PVSEC news.