Meet the Organising Committee

Prof Bram Hoex

Prof Bram Hoex

Conference Chair

Bram Hoex is a Professor and Deputy Head at the School of Photovoltaic and Renewable Energy Engineering at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). His research focuses on the development and application of nanoscale thin films in a wide range of renewable energy devices in particular solar cells. He is also an enthusiastic user of new technology, as evidenced by the development of the website and the SunSolve tool for tertiary teaching, as well as spending a significant part of his spare time in virtual reality solving puzzles, fighting aliens, or exploring the real world from above using his drone.

Prof Alison Lennon

Prof Alison Lennon

Organising Committee Member

Alison Lennon is a Professor at the School of Photovoltaic and Renewable Energy Engineering at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). Her research focuses on metallisation and module fabrication for silicon photovoltaics. She has supervised to completion more than 20 PhD students and is currently the School’s Postgraduate Coordinator. Her spare time is spent co-raising two young people, who will hopefully live in a fully electric future powered by renewable energy sources.

A/Prof Nicholas Ekins-Daukes (Ned)

A/Prof Nicholas Ekins-Daukes (Ned)

Scientific Program Committee Chair

Ned Ekins-Daukes is Associate Professor at the School of Photovoltaic and Renewable Energy Engineering at the University of New South Wales (UNSW).  His research seeks to increase the efficiency of photovoltaic solar power conversion towards the ultimate limit of 93%, taking device concepts from thermodynamic validation, laboratory feasibility to a working prototype device.  Outside of the university he spends his time with his wife and two daughters and enjoys woodwork, skiing and hiking in the mountains.

Dr Siva Karuturi

Dr Siva Karuturi

Organising Committee Member

Dr. Siva Karuturi is a lead researcher at the Australian National University and a former recipient of the Discovery Early Career Researcher Award Fellowship. His research interests lie primarily in the areas of materials engineering and device fabrication for application in solar energy conversion. Outside his work, he loves spending time with his two young kids, going for long drives and cooking authentic Hyderabad biriyani for friends.

Prof Renate Egan

Prof Renate Egan

Organising Committee Member

Professor Renate Egan leads the UNSW activity in the Australian Centre for Advanced Photovoltaics.  Recently described as one of Eight Great Women in the Business of Science and Solar by Renewable Energy World, she has led manufacturing and industrial technology development of energy technologies in Australia, Germany and China.  As an innovator, entrepreneur and academic, Renate is passionate about using her skills to increase the uptake of solar and accelerate the energy transition. Renate joined 75 women scientists and engineers for 21 days in Antarctica on the first Homeward Bound voyage – and learnt a lot about penguins, polar-dips and human behaviour in extreme environments.

Patricia Xu

Patricia Xu

Organising Committee Member

Patricia is the School Manager at the University of New South Wales.  She has extensive experience and skills in financial and budget management, sound financial modelling, in-depth analysis and sustainable business planning adding insights to the planning and strategic development of PVSEC-31.  Patricia sees herself as a gym junkie (6-7 days a week!) and, when she puts her mind to it, likes to be a masterchef in her home kitchen.

A special thank you to our Program Committee for all their efforts they’ve contributed to building the PVSEC-31 program.

Committee Operations
: Anastasia Soeriyadi, UNSW Sydney

Area 1 :

Heping Shen, Australia National University

Brett Hallam, UNSW Sydney

Area 2:

Xiaojing Hao, UNSW Sydney

Bart Vermang, IMEC, Belgium

Area 3:

Lan Fu, Australia National University

Mitsuru Imaizumi, JAXA, Japan

Stephen Bremner, UNSW Sydney

Area 4:

Hideo Ohkita, Kyoto University, Japan

Shujuan Huang, Macquarie University

Area 5:

Anita Ho-Baillie, University of Sydney

Anthony Chesman, CSIRO

Udo Bach, Monash University

Area 6:

Fiona Beck, Australian National University

Marius Peters,  Fz-Juelich, Germany

Murad Tayebjee, UNSW Sydney

Area 7:

Chris Fell, CSIRO

Yoshihiro Hishikawa, AIST Japan

Area 8:

Rebecca Yang, RMIT

Angèle Reinders, University Twente, Netherlands

Area 9:

Niraj Lal, AEMO

Iain Macgill, UNSW Sydney

Area 10:

Chinho Park, Kentech, Korea

Anna Bruce, UNSW Sydney

Olivia Coldrey, Sustainable Energy for All, Austria